The First International Workshop on Big Data and Smart Computing for Military and Defense Technology

BigDefense 2021

January 2021 In conjunction with IEEE BigComp 2021 Organized by Big Data Research Institute of Konkuk University

Purpose and Scope

In BigDefense 2021 workshop, we will discuss innovative research results about computing and information technologies, such as artificial intelligence (AI), machine learning, big data, IoT, ubiquitous communication, UI/UX, SW platforms and frameworks to design and implement intelligent military and defense systems.


Potential topics of BigDefense 2021 include but are not limited to the following:

  • AI and machine learning for military and defense technology
  • BBig data processing for military and defense technology
  • Context awareness for military and defense technology
  • Cloud computing and service for military and defense technology
  • IoT and sensor networks for military and defense technology
  • Ubiquitous communications for military and defense technology
  • Embedded SW and platforms for military and defense technology
  • SW architecture and frameworks for military and defense technology
  • UI/UX for military and defense technology

Important Dates

  • Deadline for Workshop Paper Submission November 16, 2020
  • Notification of Acceptance November 23, 2020
  • Camera-Ready Copy Due December 7, 2020
  • Author Registration Due December 14, 2020
  • Workshop Date TBA


All submissions must be in English and in PDF according to the IEEE two-column format for conference proceedings. All submissions will be peer-reviewed by the Program Committees of the workshop. Expected number of participants is 30 or more including presenters.

IEEE Conference Microsoft Word Template: IEEE_MSWord_Template.doc

Use the direct link for paper submission

Accepted Papers



Young-guk Ha
Professor, Konkuk University, Republic of Korea
Chang-eun Lee
Dr. Chang-eun Lee (ETRI, Republic of Korea)

Program Committee

  • Dr. Han-min Jung (KISTI, Republic of Korea)
  • Dr. Min-su Jang (ETRI, Republic of Korea)
  • Dr. Tae-hong Kim (KIOM, Republic of Korea)
  • Dr. Woo-young Kwon (Wisenut, Republic of Korea)
  • Dr. Sung-hoon Kim (ETRI, Republic of Korea)
  • Mr. Chang-song Oh (ATechTn, Republic of Korea)
  • Mr. Joong-ku Kim (VST, Republic of Korea)
  • Prof. Gon-woo Kim (Chungbuk National University, Republic of Korea)
  • Prof. Hyung-soon Park (KAIST, Republic of Korea)